ADHD & THE FAMILY

As mentioned in a previous post, I along with my two children have diagnosed ADHD.  This info-graphic explains what that is for those of you who are unsure or unfamiliar.  ADHD Infographic

My son is 9 and my daughter is 7.  Both are highly intelligent, my son especially and has been tested as having an extremely high IQ for his age.  This is normal.  I want to stop any misconception that people with ADHD are not intelligent.  It is often the exact opposite.  They are almost always extremely gifted in one area or another, though it can be hard to detect because of the other behaviors that overshadow it.  However, this is not what I’m here to talk about today.

If you didn’t know already, ADHD is hard on the child or adult that has it and the family as well.  I would be lying if I said that life in our house was hunky dory and that ADHD has no effect on us whatsoever.

I would like to say that having a degree and background in teaching has really helped me navigate the murky waters that is ADD/ADHD.   I would like to say that having lived with having it my entire life has left me with extremely useful and very profound insights on how to help  my own struggling children.  But that is total bull honkey!

Like every parent that struggles with helping a child with this disability we had trouble with knee-jerk reactions, inattentiveness, avoiding chores and homework, etc.  The worst times of the day being the morning before meds kick in and the evening when meds wear off.  We had tried everything to curb these behaviors.

We tried behavior charts, allowance, positive reinforcement, taking away privileges, bribery, gluten-free diet…. We tried putting both of them in soccer and it seemed that because the practices were held in the evenings it made it difficult for them to focus and behave.

Both of my kids are on meds.  This helps them to focus in school and get things done at home as well (as long as the meds are in their systems).  Meds have to be changed over time.  I can’t tell you how many we have tried until finding the right ones and the right dosage.   It’s important to keep on top of that and be mindful of the changes in the child and inform the doctor as needed.

Sleep also is affected by ADHD.  It started off that my son only needed melatonin to help him get to sleep.  Then, he began having trouble staying asleep.  I’m not talking about waking up one or two times, I’m saying he was staying awake and unable to go back to sleep for the majority of the night.  Melatonin stopped working for the most part.  So, now the doctor has prescribed a medicine to help him sleep at night.  Apparently this is normal for children with ADD/ADHD.

Karate has been another VERY positive thing for my son.  It has helped him with his focus, being respectful, and being a responsible kid.  We are considering putting our daughter in Karate as well.

Don’t get me wrong, things aren’t always stressful at home with my children.  I LOVE how creative and fun-loving they are!  They are sweet, loving, and gentle souls.   Deaglan is very science and technology oriented and Emory is very music and art minded.

Sometimes we yell with frustration at night.  Sometimes we laugh, giggle, and sing.  Some days and nights are difficult to get through and others are smooth.

If you are going through some of the same things I want you to know that you are not alone.  Let’s talk!  Let’s support each other!

What are somethings you have tried that have worked for you?  What have you tried that hasn’t?  I’m looking forward to hearing from you.

 

 

Leave a comment